To help me find my way…..

The Light House

I am back from my visit in South Africa and it was just wonderful!  The weather was incredible and I managed to enjoy a number of days being lazy by some or other swimming pool.  I spent the last few days of my visit in Paarl, Western Cape Winelands, with two of my best friends of 20 years, Darrol and Hendrik, seeing what they have been up to.

Darrol and Hendrik were couture designers in South Africa for most of their lives.  And as the saying goes…..sometimes in life it is just your day! Because these two have managed to land themselves the ultimate project.  They were commissioned to transform a family home in Paarl, Western Cape region, into a boutique guest house, which upon completion they will also manage.


For the last year they have been busy with the renovation, redesign and styling of this new project. The result thus far is simply fantastic! With the build complete they are now in the final phases of decorating and await delivery of all of the soft furnishings, furniture and final decorative pieces.


This venue will be available to overseas visitors with completion expected by mid December of this year.  I took a few sneaky pics to give you all a taste of what the final product will look like, but do bear in mind this is currently a blank canvas!  There will be a total of 5 on-suite rooms decorated to the highest of standards, with a number of lounges for relaxing and sipping a drink or two, including a library.



What makes this place incredible is the view over the Paarl valley and Drakenstein and Franschoek mountains as well as the huge garden.  Included in the slideshow are a few of the amazing flowers that grow in this garden.  And with a swimming pool of 20×8 meters!!!!!!!!!!! you simply cannot get bored in your quest to be idle. And yes, this is where I spent most of my days doing absolutely nothing!



I hope you like the initial pictures and I will publish a full piece once every detail has been completed and they are ready for the press launch party. One thing is for sure this is going to be one amazing venue for an intimate wedding away!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Till next time, take care

PS:( Hendrik, the blue is for you 🙂

xx

Share/Bookmark

~ by illyriaevents on October 28, 2010.

Leave a comment